Cincinnati Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc » Chapter History

Chapter History

After a group of courageous and enthusiastic young woman were granted permission from the University of Cincinnati, Edwina Woodyard, Beta Chapter, helped to establish the sixth chapter in Delta’s chain–Zeta Chapter. On October 20th, 1920, seventeen undergraduates and graduates were inducted into charter membership of the first Negro fraternal organization on the campus of the University of Cincinnati. These included:

  • Blanche Dixon Belsinger
  • Ethel LaMay Calimese**
  • Jennie Austin Fletcher**
  • Camille Fraison Hood
  • Edith Howard**
  • Beatrice Morton
  • Cleo Hall Perry**
  • Maude Ragan**
  • Ida Mae Rhodes
  • Neola Woodson Robinson**
  • Martha Hall Ross**
  • Marie Belsinger Ryder**
  • Louise Penn Sandipher
  • Mary Lee Tate
  • LaVerne Friason Watson
  • Mary Holloway Weatherly**
  • Sarah White**

Graduates: **

The first President of Zeta Chapter was Ida Mae Rhodes. Other officers included: LaVerne Friason (Corresponding Secretary), Beatrice Morton (Recording Secretary), and Blanche Dixon (Treasurer). Gamma Sigma Chapter was established as the first graduate chapter in January 1922, and Beta Psi Chapter was organized in June 1945. In 1959, both graduate chapters dropped the Greek nomenclature and united to become the Cincinnati Alumnae Chapter.

Throughout the years, Cincinnati sorors have been involved in the National Organization. The sorors entered activities of the Grand Chapter as they attended the Third National Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1921. Ida Mae Rhodes became the first and only national Representative, as the office was abolished when sectional vice presidents were established. Ethel LaMay Calimese was elected treasurer during the same convention, and Martha Hall Ross became the Second Vice President in 1922.

In 1926, Zeta and Gamma Sigma Chapters hosted the Sixth National Convention in Cincinnati. Ethel LaMay was elected Grand President and Beatrice Morton was elected Secretary. In 1939 Elsie Austui became the eighth Grand President and Reber S. Cann, who helped establish the National Headquarters in Washington, D.C. served as national Secretary from 1944-1952, and National First Vice President from 1951-1954.

Local Chapter Presidents

Eva Watson Henry 1959-1961
Florence Heater Wesley 1961-1963
Marquita McAlarty McLean 1963-1965
Ruth Cann 1965-1966
Dorothy Moreland 1966-1968
Gladys McClure Tillotson 1968-1970
Barbara Perkins 1970-1972
Armenia Glaspie Williams 1972-1974
Ruth Wilkinson Johnson 1974-1976
Lottie Enoch Walters 1976-1978
Minnie Leach Milton 1978-1980
Nancy Whitaker Moody 1980-1982
Allison Bush 1982-1984
Melba Caldwell Morgan 1984-1986
Margaret Patterson Horton 1986-1988
Sybil McDowell 1988-1990
Laura K. Murray 1990-1992
Cheryl Yolunda Hudson 1992-1995
Cammie Combs-Montgomery 1995-1997
H. Michelle Toney 1997-1999
Trina F. Madry 1999-2001
Millicent Y. (Mimi) Mickle 2001-2003
Antoinette M. Ward 2003-2006
Veronica L. Chapman 2006-2009

Tina A. Welch


Danelle Carter